Darryl Francis Zanuck (September 5, 1902 - December 22, 1979)
was an American producer, writer, actor, director and studio
executive who played a major part in the Hollywood studio system
as one of its longest survivors (the length of his career being
rivalled only by that of Adolph Zukor).

Academy Awards and Nominations

1929-30 Nominated Outstanding Production Disraeli
1932-33 Nominated Outstanding Production 42nd Street
1934 Nominated Outstanding Production The House of Rothschild
1935 Nominated Outstanding Production Les Misérables
1936 Nominated Outstanding Production Romeo and Juliet
1937 Nominated Outstanding Production In Old Chicago
1938 Nominated Outstanding Production Alexander's Ragtime Band
1940 Nominated Outstanding Production The Grapes of Wrath
1941 Won Outstanding Motion Picture How Green Was My Valley
1944 Nominated Outstanding Motion Picture Wilson
1946 Nominated Outstanding Motion Picture The Razor's Edge
1947 Won Outstanding Motion Picture Gentleman's Agreement
1949 Nominated Outstanding Motion Picture Twelve O'Clock High
1950 Won Outstanding Motion Picture All About Eve
1962 Nominated Best Picture The Longest Day

This award was the very first Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award
ever presented, given to Darryl F. Zanuck in 1938. At the lower
front-facing portion of the base, an engraved bronze nameplate
reads, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Irving G.
Thalberg Memorial Award to Darryl F. Zanuck for the Most
Consistent High Quality of Production Achievement During 1937.
In the years before 1937 Zanuck was responsible for such classics
as Public Enemy, 42nd Street, Little Caesar, and Les Miserables.
(Zanuck subsequently won two more Thalberg Awards, in 1944 and
1950 the only person to have ever won three.

The Zanuck Thalberg Award measures 13 in. tall, with a green
marble base measuring 3 ¾ in. diameter at its widest point. The
bronze of both the bust and the nameplate exhibits a slight patina
from age. It is larger in size and more dramatic looking than any of
the later Thalberg bronzes it stands alone in the history of
Academy Awards Memorabilia.

In March 2008 this Thalberg Award went up for auction, it was
withdrawn from auction as it did not meet its minimum expectation
of $150,000.
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sicences

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award


For The Most Consistent High Quality of
Production Achievement During 1937
First Irving Thalberg Award 1937 Darryl Zanuck
The purpose and use of this sight is for informational exhibition of privately owned memorabilia and contains data as reference for memorabilia identification. This site
is not for profit. This sight is in no way sanctioned, operated, endorsed, or affiliated with the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. (AMPAS) This sight is
in no way is intended to be looked at or represent an official site in any manner. Oscar” statuette, and owner of its trademarks and service marks, including
“OSCAR®,” “OSCARS®,” “ACADEMY AWARD®,” “ACADEMY AWARDS®,” “OSCAR NIGHT®,” “A.M.P.A.S, design mark are trademarks and service
marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Copyright 2008 HollywooGoldenGuy.com
The most important discount motorcycle gloves you'll ever own is the motorcycle jackets for sale.  Our childrens motorcycle
clothing are generally less expensive than motorcycle jackets for women and motorcycle safety gear.